Where do the unsubs go?

AsilEnil

Total novice here, and MLM works as it should, with the exception that when I sent a test mail and had a few people unsubscribe, my list remains the same. I guess I don't quite grasp how the unsub feature "talks" to my little text file of addresses. It resides on the server in the proper lists directory, but the unsubs don't seem to show there. Yet, the unsubs show in the Statistics feature. Feel free to point me to a previous post or link. Thanks. :)

stanbusk

Administrator
Staff member
Is your list on the server? In such case the unsubscribe delete the address from the address database.

AsilEnil

Yes, it's a txt file on the server (not savvy enough yet for SQL yet). I see the change come through in Statistics, and I see other small files have been created at the same level on the server as the original txt file, but they don't have the unsubs removed.

P.S. Everything else works beautifully. Just thrilled with how much better this is than the ancient and nonsensical pc-based program my employer had been using for years. :)

stanbusk

Administrator
Staff member
mySQL is far the preferred ways of storing data, it is easier, faster and more secure. I guess you may have some kind of permission issue here. The code is set to delete the unsubscribed addresses, if it doesn't it is because something is preventing it to do so. If you have access to mySQL on your server I recommend you to use it.

AsilEnil

Well, I had my brother-in-law create a little MySQL file for me, and I STILL don't know where the unsubs go. They show up just fine in in the Statistics panel, but don't update my tiny little test mailing list of 15 people. I've been over the installation and prefs documentation multiple times, and still don't see what setting could possibly be wrong.