Suggestions for MLM and Max tutorials

mailrock

Hi,

This is not to under estimate Stan's work on this program nor the fact that his help on the forum is very good and mostly quite quick and helpful. It is just that somehow MLM is very confusing.

I know he is going to work on the manuals after MB 8 is out so thought I might write down some of the things which maybe could be addressed in a manual. A manual for those who really need it, not those who don't. A step by step approach with possible reasons for errors.

I have been using MB for a few years now but still just scrape through each mailing as I am still not exactly sure the best way to operate it especially since MLM has come in.

I really like it, but need to feel more confident with it.

Yes I have read the tutorials that I have found, and followed the various threads on the forum, but no they don't clearly cover the points I need especially the indepth flow of the program from initial setting up to looking after Returned Mail etc.

When Stan or someone gets the time and inclination a manual which covers these basic questions, it would be more than welcome and I am sure would certainly increase sales.

The videos for MB are very good and I know one about MLM would be also very popular and helpful. Some folk learn more by watching than reading.

My wish list for the manual would be..

Options of how to..

SET UP A LIST a list

a) Manually add recipients one by one in MB
b) Drag Drop from File to MB
c) Import from text, csv etv file.
c1) Best way to do this for tabs, commas etc
d) 'Must have' fields. Does the program ignore fields which are empty.
d1) If one does not use the Salute tags, is there any advantage have First,Lastname fields.
e) Is it best to set up sub lists or one Primary list.
e1) Say there are 20k in list, what are the cons etc of making smaller lists of say per state or whatever. What happens then with Returns, Subscribe and unsubscrube using MLM